
MINOR GUARDIANSHIP – WHAT TO DO NEXT 

You have now started your minor guardianship case by filing the Summons and Petition. Attached to this 

notice is a Case Schedule.  It is important that you read the  Case Schedule carefully.  The Court has set a 

60-day hearing about your case.  If you have not already, you must do the following, AS SOON AS 

POSSIBLE.  

1. Get copies of Criminal and CPS backgrounds:  You must request criminal history and CPS 
background information for the proposed guardian(s) and any residents of the guardian(s)’ 
household. You must:     
 

a. Get the Washington Access to Criminal History Report 
a. You can get a copy of this report online at WATCH Overview - Washington State 

Patrol or you can get a copy in person or by mail. For more information visit: 
Criminal History - WSP (wa.gov) 

b. Put the Criminal History Cover Sheet (form GDN M 407) on top of the criminal 
history report.  
 

b. Submit the Motion and Order to DCYF to Release CPS Information 
a. Download and fill out the Motion for DCYF Order and Order to DCYF to Release CPS 

Information (GDN M 404 and GDN M 405).  
b. The order must be signed by a judicial officer. Submit the motion to the court using 

the Court’s Ex Parte Via the Clerk (EVPC) process.  
  

2. Decide if a visitor needs to be appointed.  A visitor is a lawyer appointed by the Court to 

investigate certain matters about the case and report to the Court. You can find out more about 

appointing a visitor at [link]  A visitor must be appointed if: 
 

a. The minor is 12 years old or over and does not have his/her own lawyer; OR 

b. Any party who must be served in the case is unable to be served; OR 

c. You or any party believes a parent of the child has waived notice about this case. 

You must file a motion to appoint a visitor if a visitor is required in your case. Forms for the 

motion and proposed order to appoint a visitor can be found HERE. 

3. Prepare a Notice of Hearing (GDN M 101) for the 60-day hearing. Use the date you were given 

on your case schedule to complete the notice of hearing.  
 

4. Serve the Summons, Petition, Statement, and Notice.  Serving documents is described in RCW 

4.28.080 and generally means personal delivery of the documents by a person not involved in 

the case.   These documents must be served on the following people:  

a. The child's parents 
b. The child (if age 12 or older) unless the court ordered that the Reasons for Minor 

Guardianship not be served on the child.  
c. Any current guardian or person with court-ordered custody 

 
5. Mail the Petition and Notice: These documents can be mailed and must be sent to:  

a.   Any adult with primary care or custody of the minor who is NOT a parent, or who had 

primary care or custody of the child for: 

https://watch.wsp.wa.gov/
https://watch.wsp.wa.gov/
https://www.wsp.wa.gov/crime/criminal-history/
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/GDN%20M%20407%20Criminal%20History%20Record%20Cover%20Sheet.pdf
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/GDN%20M%20404%20and%20GDN%20M%20405%20%20Motion%20for%20DCYF%20Order%20and%20Order%20to%20DCYF%20to%20Release%20CPS%20Info.pdf
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/GDN%20M%20404%20and%20GDN%20M%20405%20%20Motion%20for%20DCYF%20Order%20and%20Order%20to%20DCYF%20to%20Release%20CPS%20Info.pdf
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https://kingcounty.gov/~/media/courts/superior-court/docs/family/family-law-instructions/06-01-how-to-serve-your-initial-court-documents-pdf.ashx?la=en
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=4.28.080
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=4.28.080


• 60 days or more in the last 2 years, or 

• 730 days during the last 5 years 

b. Any non-parent with custody of the minor under a prior non-parental custody order 

c. Any person nominated by a minor 12 or older to be guardian 

d. Any person nominated by a parent to be guardian 

e. Each grandparent and sibling of the minor, if known 

f. Any conservator for the minor in any jurisdiction 

 

6. Complete and file with the Court the required Disclosure of Bankruptcy or Criminal History: 

GDN ALL 002 Disclosure of Bankruptcy or Criminal History  

  

7. All proposed guardians should complete the on-line lay guardian training :  Washington State 

Courts - Guardian Portal 

 

8. Complete the court required checklist.  You can find the checklist <link HERE link>. Fill in every 

item if possible; if not, fill in every item you can. File the completed checklist with the Court and 

send a copy to the court (using the eWorking Copies process described below) at least two 

weeks before your 60-day hearing. 

 

9. Send copies of all documents to the Court at least one week before your 60-day hearing.  This 

should include a copy of the petition and hearing notice, proof of service, proof of notice, the 

WATCH report, and the checklist.  To send these to the court, use this process: eWorking Copies 

 

10. Attend your 60-day hearing:   At your 60-day hearing, the Court will look at whether the case is 

ready to move forward  including all the steps listed above. 

 

 

NOTE: This document lists the basic steps for a guardianship.  If you need a guardianship order 

BEFORE the 60-day hearing, you must file a petition for an emergency guardianship.  

 This document is not a list of all issues or possible hearings that can occur in a guardianship.  

You should consult the law (RCW 11.130) and/or consult an attorney.  

 

 

 

If there are items missing from the checklist or if you don’t send it to the court your 
case will be delayed. The court will likely schedule a later hearing for you to come 

back to court to show you have completed those steps. 

https://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/GDN%20ALL%20002%20Disclosure%20Guardian%20or%20Conservator.pdf
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.courts.wa.gov%2Fguardianportal%2Findex.cfm%3Ffa%3Dguardianportal.title11minor&data=04%7C01%7Cbramoore%40kingcounty.gov%7C07653a1c1a224147798008d91ed46238%7Cbae5059a76f049d7999672dfe95d69c7%7C0%7C0%7C637574719795677166%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C1000&sdata=dqwz4kb%2BzhBZeSEDdW1IiUuhBulDqCPsX3hQhItBqNU%3D&reserved=0
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.courts.wa.gov%2Fguardianportal%2Findex.cfm%3Ffa%3Dguardianportal.title11minor&data=04%7C01%7Cbramoore%40kingcounty.gov%7C07653a1c1a224147798008d91ed46238%7Cbae5059a76f049d7999672dfe95d69c7%7C0%7C0%7C637574719795677166%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C1000&sdata=dqwz4kb%2BzhBZeSEDdW1IiUuhBulDqCPsX3hQhItBqNU%3D&reserved=0
https://www.washingtonlawhelp.org/files/C9D2EA3F-0350-D9AF-ACAE-BF37E9BC9FFA/attachments/27526F5E-D0A9-4B7D-902A-0DC8551FB3DB/9952en_working-copies.pdf
https://kingcounty.gov/courts/clerk/documents/eWC.aspx
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=11.130.225

