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FLIC 3.9 
 
 
 
 

 
How to  

Respond to a Petition for 
Child Support Modification 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
Talk to a lawyer if you can 

 
These instructions have been developed by the King County Superior Court Family Law Information Center. 
They provide legal information only and are not intended to be a substitute for legal advice.  
 
Facilitators cannot provide legal advice or complete your forms for you. It’s a good idea to talk to a lawyer 
before you file any forms.  

 

• You can get information about their services and a list of low-cost and free legal resources at 
https://kingcounty.gov/en/court/superior-court/courts-jails-legal-system/court-programs-children-
families/divorce-custody-adoption/family-law-facilitators. 
  

 

https://kingcounty.gov/en/court/superior-court/courts-jails-legal-system/court-programs-children-families/divorce-custody-adoption/family-law-facilitators
https://kingcounty.gov/en/court/superior-court/courts-jails-legal-system/court-programs-children-families/divorce-custody-adoption/family-law-facilitators
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Step 1:  Determine your response deadline 
 

20 days If you were served in person in Washington state (or by mail).  

60 days If you were served in person outside of Washington state or by publication. 

 

Step 2:  Fill out these forms 
 

All these forms can be downloaded at:  www.courts.wa.gov/forms/ 
 

Form Name Form Number Notes Completed 

Response to Petition to 
Modify Child Support Order 

FL Modify 502 
 

 

Child Support Worksheets WSCSS-Worksheets  
 

Child Support Schedule & 
Instructions 

Use this information to complete the Worksheets. Online 
Child Support Calculation software is available at 
https://fortress.wa.gov/dshs/dcs/SSGen/Home 
 

 

Financial Declaration of 
(name): ______________ 

FL All Family 131 
 

 

Sealed Financial Source 
Documents Coversheet 

FL All Family 011 
 

 

Gather the necessary financial documents, including:  

▪ Your W-2s and complete personal tax returns for the past 2 years 

▪ Your most recent pay stubs (at least 6 months)  

▪ Complete partnership/corporate tax returns for the past 2 years if you have a 5% interest or more 

▪ Statements from all your banks and financial institutions for the past 6 months 
Note:  The other parent can ask you for a copy of your check register.  If this happens, you will have 14 
days to provide it. 

 
            Print these, but do not fill them out yet. You will need them later.  
 

Form Name Form Number Notes Completed 

Proof of Personal Service  FL All Family 101 See step 4  

Proof of Mailing or Hand 
Delivery 

FL All Family 112 See step 4 
 

 
How many copies do I need?  

▪ Original set to file with Clerk’s office.   

▪ Copy 1 is to serve the other parent  

▪ Copy 2 will go to the Commissioner in your case    

▪ Copy 3 you will keep for your records  

http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/
https://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20Modify%20502%20Response%20to%20Pt%20to%20Mod%20Child%20Support_2023%2007.docx
https://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20Modify%20502%20Response%20to%20Pt%20to%20Mod%20Child%20Support_2023%2007.docx
https://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/WSCSS_Worksheets2019%2001.doc
https://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/WSCSS_Schedule_2023%2001%2001.docx
https://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/WSCSS_Schedule_2023%2001%2001.docx
https://fortress.wa.gov/dshs/dcs/SSGen/Home
https://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20All%20Family%20131%20Financial%20Declaration_2016%2009%2026.doc
https://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20All%20Family%20131%20Financial%20Declaration_2016%2009%2026.doc
https://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20All%20Family%20011%20Sealed%20Financial%20Source%20Docs.doc
https://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20All%20Family%20011%20Sealed%20Financial%20Source%20Docs.doc
https://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20All%20Family%20101%20Proof%20of%20Personal%20Service_2020%2006.doc
https://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20All%20Family%20112%20Proof%20of%20Mailing%20or%20Hand%20Delivery%202022%2001.docx
https://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20All%20Family%20112%20Proof%20of%20Mailing%20or%20Hand%20Delivery%202022%2001.docx
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▪ Make a 4th copy if the child(ren) in this case has ever received public assistance.  Deliver 

copies of your filed forms to the King County Prosecuting Attorney’s Office, Family Support 
Section.    

 

 
Step 3:  File the original forms from Step 2 with the Clerk’s Office. 
     

You can file your forms by bringing your original forms to the Clerk’s Office (room 2C in Kent 
and E-609 in Seattle), 
 
OR  
 
You can file your case online on the Clerk’s website at: 
https://kingcounty.gov/en/dept/dja/courts-jails-legal-system/court-forms-document-filing/filing. If 
you have questions about e-filing call 206-477-3000, or email eServices@kingcounty.gov. 

 
Step 4:  Have the other party served 

 
You may deliver or mail documents yourself.  If the other party has an attorney, deliver, or mail 
the forms to the attorney instead. After you have delivered/mailed the forms to the other party or 
attorney, fill out the Proof of Personal Service or Proof of Mailing or Hand Delivery form. Make 
one copy of this form for your records and file the original with the Clerk’s Office.  
 
You have now responded to the Petition and must take the following additional steps.   
 

Step 5:  Complete your Trial Memorandum and make 3 copies. 
 
 File your Trial Memorandum by the date on your case schedule using this form: 

  
Form Name Form Number Notes Completed 

Declaration of (name): 
____________ 

FL All Family 135 

Use it to explain what you 
are requesting and why.  
You may include 
information on your income 
and expenses as well as 
those of the other parent. 

 

   
Copies: 

▪ File the Original in the Clerk’s Office 

▪ Deliver copy 1 to the other parent 

▪ Deliver copy 2 to the TBA Commissioner (see Step 8) 

▪ Keep copy 3 for your records 

▪ Deliver copy 4 to the Prosecuting Attorney (if applicable)  
 

The other parent also has a deadline to file a Trial Memorandum on the case schedule.  You 
can reply to it if you chose.  Use the same declaration form above and follow the same process 
listed above for filing the original and delivering copies.     

 

Step 7:  Prepare Final Orders. 

https://kingcounty.gov/en/dept/dja
https://kingcounty.gov/en/dept/dja/courts-jails-legal-system/court-forms-document-filing/filing/ex-parte-via-the-clerk/
mailto:eServices@kingcounty.gov
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20All%20Family%20135%20Declaration%20-%20blank.doc
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20All%20Family%20135%20Declaration%20-%20blank.doc
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 The next step is to fill out and sign the forms listed below.   
 

Write the word “proposed” in the upper right-hand corner of each copy of the forms.   
The deadline to deliver these forms is listed on your case schedule.   

  
Form Name Form Number Notes Completed 

Final Order and Findings on Petition 
to Modify Child Support Order 

FL Modify 510 
 

 

Child Support Order FL All Family 130  
 

Child Support Worksheets 
WSCSS-
Worksheets 

 
 

 
Copies: 

▪ Keep the Originals for yourself (do not file them, bring them with you to your trial) 

▪ Deliver copy 1 to the other parent 

▪ Deliver copy 2 to the TBA Commissioner (see Step 8) 

▪ Deliver copy 3 to the Prosecuting Attorney (if applicable) 

 

Step 8:  Prepare your TBA Binder and Deliver to the TBA Commissioner 
 

 Now it’s time to deliver Copy 2 of all of the forms listed below to the TBA Commissioner: 
 

▪ Response to Petition to Modify Child Support Order  

▪ Financial Declaration 

▪ Sealed Financial Source Documents  

▪ Declaration (Trial Memorandum) 

▪ Child Support Order (proposed) 

▪ Final Order and Findings on Petition to Modify Child Support Order (proposed) 

▪ Child Support Worksheets (proposed) 
  

All Working papers/binders shall be provided in a three-ring binder with a plastic cover. The moving 
party must provide the binder to the court by the deadline for their reply and it must include their 
opening and reply information. The responding party must provide the binder by the deadline for their 
response. Please list your name, phone number, email address, trial date and cause number on the 
front of the binder cover using this document (Trial by Affidavit Coversheet). All other deadlines on the 
case schedule must be followed.  

If you need a binder, some may be available on a first come first serve basis in front of room W-291 in 
Seattle and 2D in Kent.  

 
Deliver them to the Commissioner’s Mailroom by noon on the deadline listed on your case schedule.  
Delivering these copies will confirm your trial date. 

https://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20Modify%20510%20Final%20Or%20and%20Fnds%20on%20Pt%20to%20Mod%20CS_2022%2001%2001.docx
https://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20Modify%20510%20Final%20Or%20and%20Fnds%20on%20Pt%20to%20Mod%20CS_2022%2001%2001.docx
https://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/FL%20All%20Family%20130%20Child%20Support%20Order%202022%2007.docx
http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/documents/WSCSS_Worksheets2019%2001.doc
https://www.kingcounty.gov/~/media/courts/superior-court/docs/COVID-19/TBA-Trial-Binder-Cover-Sheet.ashx?la=en
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Warning!  If you are late delivering your copies to the TBA Commissioner, the Court may dismiss 

your case, and you will have to start again. 

 
 

Step 9:  Your Virtual Trial 
 

All family law motions are being heard virtually via Zoom.  Two days before your hearing:  

• Go to https://kingcounty.gov/en/court/superior-court/courts-jails-legal-system/court-
calendars-locations-operations/superior-court-calendars-schedules/virtual-family-law-
hearings  

• Click on the green button that says “Virtual Hearing Links- 1:00 p.m. Calendar” 
• Find the name of your case. The zoom link you will use to appear for your hearing will 

be to the right of your case number.  
 
If you cannot access Zoom for your hearing, you may also use the phone number provided to 
appear by phone. If you cannot go online to get the hearing information, at least two days before 
your hearing, call and leave a message at:  
 

• 206-477-1523 for motions noted in Kent, or  

• 206-477-2750 for motions noted in Seattle  

Court staff will contact you back to let you know how to appear.    
 
For more guidance on Video Hearings, please visit: https://kingcounty.gov/en/court/superior-
court/courts-jails-legal-system/court-calendars-locations-operations/virtual-hearings-trials/video-
participation 
 
Important tips for your Zoom hearing:  
 
1.  If you are on time for your hearing and you are not let into the meeting within 15 

minutes after your scheduled hearing time, please email 

a. FamilyLawStaffSeattle@KingCounty.gov for Seattle cases or,  

b. FamilyLawStaffMRJC@KingCounty.gov for Kent cases. 

Do not leave the waiting room.  If you cannot email the court, call 206-263-0635 for assistance. 

2.  Once in the meeting please: 

a. Mute yourself and turn off your camera until you are called on. 

b. Rename yourself with your last name, first name (example: "Doe, Jane").  

c. If you get disconnected on accident, you can click the link again or call the associated 
phone number and you will be let back into the meeting.  

3.  The coordinator will perform a check-in. Please remain muted and do not speak until your 
name or case number is called.  

https://kingcounty.gov/en/court/superior-court/courts-jails-legal-system/court-calendars-locations-operations/superior-court-calendars-schedules/virtual-family-law-hearings
https://kingcounty.gov/en/court/superior-court/courts-jails-legal-system/court-calendars-locations-operations/superior-court-calendars-schedules/virtual-family-law-hearings
https://kingcounty.gov/en/court/superior-court/courts-jails-legal-system/court-calendars-locations-operations/superior-court-calendars-schedules/virtual-family-law-hearings
https://kingcounty.gov/en/court/superior-court/courts-jails-legal-system/court-calendars-locations-operations/virtual-hearings-trials/video-participation
https://kingcounty.gov/en/court/superior-court/courts-jails-legal-system/court-calendars-locations-operations/virtual-hearings-trials/video-participation
https://kingcounty.gov/en/court/superior-court/courts-jails-legal-system/court-calendars-locations-operations/virtual-hearings-trials/video-participation
mailto:FamilyLawStaffSeattle@KingCounty.gov
mailto:FamilyLawStaffMRJC@KingCounty.gov
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4.  After check-in, wait and remain muted with your camera off until the court is ready for 
your hearing. Your hearing may start at any time between 1:00 and 4:00 pm. When called, 
identify yourself each time you speak and conduct yourself as you would if you were in a 
physical courtroom, meaning there are other people present for their hearings too. 

5.  After your hearing is over you are welcome to leave the meeting.  
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